book reviews, Horror

Book Review: The Shining by Stephen King

I know everyone has seen the movie from 1980, but I thought this would be fun to review. Man was I right. This book is amazing! Its so scary, I was up all night. I was paranoid and afraid, and King slowly drives you mad, just like he does with the characters. Stephen King did everything right in this book. Haunted house books are always good but King took it to the next level. The writing is fantastic. The characters are terrific, the book is supposed to show his decent into madness and it does so flawlessly.  The imagery is so great, you really feel the monsters and ghosts come to life, which is scary.  jack is already a horrible person to start out with, I think the real horror in the book wasn’t the ghosts or giant monster bushes. It was the abusive, horrible, father. It’s clear though out the book how awful jack is. and the hotel just makes him worse. The only thing that could have been done a little better was the ending, other than that, perfect.

5/5

Standard

Leave a comment